Australia team for world cup 2014
Australia named 23-man squad for 2014 World Cup

Australia named 23-man squad for 2014 World Cup

Kouami Sessou . Posted in World Cup No Comments

Australia Head Coach Ange Postecoglou revealed the 23 players that will play  at the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil.

The squad will be captained by midfielder Mile Jedinak with Tim Cahill, Mark Bresciano and Mark Milligan becoming the first Australian football players to represent the Socceroos at three World Cup tournaments following the 2006 and 2010 FIFA World Cup finals.

The Socceroos squad is made up of three goalkeepers, six defenders, 10 midfielders and four strikers with seven of the 23 players currently playing in the Hyundai A-League.

The four players to miss out on the final squad are Mark Birighitti, Josh Kennedy, Tom Rogic and Luke Wilkshire.

Wilkshire, like Kennedy, was due to play in his third World Cup, and would have provided cover for Ivan Franjic, who is recovering from a knee injury, at right-back. He was also the most experienced player in the preliminary squad with 79 caps. Matthew Spiranovic is now the only defender in the squad with more than 10 caps.

“Every step of the selection process has been difficult because the players have worked very hard since they came into camp but we have had to weigh up form, fitness and squad balance in coming up with the 23 players who will represent Australia at the 2014 World Cup,”

Postecoglou said.

“We’ve selected a squad that can do Australia proud and they will walk out onto the pitch for the World Cup in the green and gold shirt and display the characteristics that define our country.

“Our stated aim is to make our country proud, show the world what Australians are made of and test ourselves against the very best football players in the world and this group of players is capable of doing that.”

Australia are grouped with Chile, Holland and title-holders Spain.


Goalkeepers :

Mat Ryan (Club Bruges), Mitchell Langerak (Borussia Dortmund), Eugene Galekovic (Adelaide United)

Defenders :

Jason Davidson (Heracles Almelo), Matthew Spiranovic (Western Sydney Wanderers), Ivan Franjic (Brisbane Roar), Bailey Wright (Preston North End), Ryan McGowan (Shandong Luneng), Alex Wilkinson (Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors)


 Oliver Bozanic (Luzern), Mark Bresciano (Al Gharafa, Qatar), James Holland (Austria Vienna), Mile Jedinak (Crystal Palace), Mark Milligan (Melbourne Victory), Dario Vidosic (Sion), Matt McKay (Brisbane Roar), James Troisi (Atalanta), Massimo Luongo (Swindon)

Forwards :

Tim Cahill (New York Red Bulls), Matthew Leckie (FSV Frankfurt 1899), Tommy Oar (Utrecht), Ben Halloran (Fortuna Duesseldorf), Adam Taggart (Newcastle Jets).


Chile v Australia
June 13
Arena Pantanal (Cuiaba)
6pm kick off (8am AEST on 14 June)

Australia v Netherlands
June 18
Estadio Beira-Rio (Porto Alegre)
1pm kick off (2am AEST on 19 June)

Australia v Spain
June 23
Arena da Baixada (Curitiba)
1pm kick off (2am AEST June 24)

Comment on this post with facebook!

Kouami Sessou

I'm webmaster and Internet specialist. J'aime le sport!


We'd like to send you the most entertaining World Football articles, videos, and photos from around the web.Subscribe now!

Leave a comment