premier league
Premier League Golden Boot Award

Premier League Golden Boot Award

Alessandro Aldieri . Posted in Europe No Comments

For those of us weighing up our betting options before the start of a season, the leading goalscorer is an often used favourite. Forget who will win the league, who will be relegated or, rather morbidly, first sacked (won this year by Liverpool’s Brendan Rodgers), the glorifying nature of ‘Who will bang in the most goals?’ appeals to fans of every nature, and is often a source of debate in pubs, cafes and offices the world over. And indeed, in selecting picks, any football tipster worth his salt would consider the availability of an ‘on-song’ scorer a vital criterion. Here’s a short history of the Premier League golden boot award, as well as the candidates for this season’s edition.


Since the Premier League was inaugurated in 1992, the top goalscorer list reads like a ‘who’s who’ of Premier League legends – Thierry Henry, Alan Shearer, Cristiano Ronaldo, and Luis Suarez just some of the names to light up the eyes of supporters (and football tipsters!) the world over, no matter what their allegiance. Love them or loathe them, these truly were guys who knew where the back of the net was. Here are some facts about the award;

  • An English player has not won the award since Kevin Phillips in 1999/2000. The Sunderland man bagged an impressive 30 goals that season, his first playing in the top flight. Indeed, this tally was enough to also secure the European golden shoe award the same year.
  • Only one man has secured the award on four occasions – Arsenal legend Thierry Henry (including three years in a row between 2004 and 2006). The Premier League’s all-time top scorer, Alan Shearer, won the award three times, twice whilst turning out for Blackburn Rovers and once for his beloved Newcastle United.
  • The lowest number of goals required to secure the award was 18 back in 1997/98 and again in 1998/99. Both times the award was shared by three players, Michael Owen being present on both occasions.
  • The highest number of goals scored in an individual season was 34, achieved by both Andy Cole whilst playing for Newcastle United (1993/94) and Blackburn’s Shearer (1994/95).
  • Tottenham’s Teddy Sheringham, in notching 22 goals, won the first award in 1992/93. His first goal that season, which was incidentally the first ever ‘live’ goal scored on Sky Sports, was whilst playing for Nottingham Forest (against Liverpool).
  • Only three players have won the award whilst playing for two different clubs. Shearer, Robin Van Persie (Arsenal and Manchester United) and Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink (Leeds United and Chelsea).
  • Manchester United and Arsenal are the only clubs to have had players claim the award five times. United, however, are the only side to have had four different winners (Dimitar Berbatov, Cristiano Ronaldo, Ruud Van Nistelrooy, and Dwight Yorke). Chelsea are the only side to have had three different winners (Didier Drogba, Nicloas Anelka, and Hasselbaink)

Last Season

Last year’s award was secured by Manchester City’s Sergio ‘Kun’ Aguero, who rattled in 26 goals in leading Manchester City to a second placed finish. Harry Kane was the surprise package of the season, his 21 goals enough to see him finish second in the list – prior to last season Kane had only ever scored three Premier league goals, and was certainly a football tipster favourite at Champion’s  Chelsea had Diego Costa close behind with 20 goals, while Charlie Austin netted an impressive 18 goals while playing for relegated QPR. Interestingly Austin failed to secure a move off the back of such a prolific season, and can be seen plying his trade in the Championship this season, where he has netted a far from disappointing seven goals so far. Arsenal’s Alexis Sanchez rounded out the top five with an impressive 16 goals in his first season in England.

This Year

You need not look much further than last year’s list to see who the bookmaker’s fancied at the start of the season for the award this year. However, with one quarter of the season complete, the statistics make interesting reading;

9 – Jamie Vardy (Leicester City)

6 – Sergio Aguero (Manchester City),  Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal), Georginio Wijnaldum (Newcastle United)

5 – Romelu Lukaku (Everton), Odion Ighalo (Watford), Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City), Dimitri Payet (West Ham), Graziano Pelle (Southampton), Callum Wilson (Bournemouth)

Leicester’s Jamie Vardy is showing the form which has earned him recent England call-ups – his nine goals so far this campaign representing the third best return in Europe, and his partnership with Riyad Mahrez certainly justifying Leicester’s form and football tipster favouritism.  Of the three players tied together on 6 goals, Aguero scored five in one match against Newcastle, Wijnaldum scored four against Norwich, and Alexis Sanchez has scored 6 in his last three games. Of last year’s top five, Harry Kane has only scored once and Chelsea’s Costa, in an all-round disappointing campaign for the Blues so far, has scored twice.

Premier League Top Goalscorer Betting

Sergio Aguero – 2.62

Alexis Sanchez – 6.00

Jamie Vardy – 10.00

Romelu Lukaku – 17.00

Diego Costa – 17.00

All odds courtesy of Bet365 and correct as of 17.00 GMT on 19/10/15

And as always, for the best football tips from the world’s canniest football tipsters, visit


Comment on this post with facebook!


We'd like to send you the most entertaining World Football articles, videos, and photos from around the web.Subscribe now!

Leave a comment